This is Africa!

 

Beautiful baskets made in Bolgatanga

 

Happy happy

Two gorgeous Fulani girls

My attempt at pounding fufu

Hello and welcome to my blog. I intended to blog weekly once we arrived in Ghana and here I am four months later beginning my first post.

Life  has been crazy and hectic to say the least. I have had so many experiences and done so many things since arriving in Ghana that I really don’t know where to start. I have travelled North, South, East and West. I have met with Chiefs, Imams and Sheiks. I have sat on a live four metre crocodile, showered using buckets, dealt with no power or running water at times and the most intermittent internet service that you can imagine. I have had interactions (that’s a nice way to put it) with Customs Officers, Immigration and Police (say no more). I have been blessed to have been bestowed with the title of Magajiyan Chigaba (Queen of Progress) in the Ashanti Region and Queen Mother in Wulugu in the North.

I have sat in traffic for more hours than I wish to think about and spent more time frustrated with “the system” than I could have imagined. I have felt more frustration, frustration, frustration with so many things than I can possibly put into words. If I had a dollar for every time I have heard the words “this is Africa” I would be a rich woman. I have pounded FuFu, attempted to stir Banku and eaten more rice than I ever have before. I have cried buckets of tears and laughed til I thought I would burst. I have been appalled by some of the medical facilities available and sadly held my beautiful mother in law as she died in our loving arms. I have met incredible, amazing people from all walks of life, some with fascinating stories to share. I have been welcomed into a huge and loving family with wide open arms and made to feel at home from day one.

Stirring the banku

Traffic

I miss my family and friends terribly as well as some of the conveniences and comforts that life in Australia afforded me. While I have always been aware of our excessive lifestyle by comparison in the West, to see first hand how some people struggle day to day just to feed themselves and their families, makes me ever more grateful for the life I have lived to date and more determined to make a difference somehow, in some way…..This is Africa!

Sitting on a live crocodile

About Rae-Anne

Writer. Dreamer. Lover. Thinker. Tea Drinker. Traveller. View all posts by Rae-Anne

7 responses to “This is Africa!

  • Judy and Julie

    Rae-anne sounds like you are having a wonderful, appalling, fantastic life experience, we got goose bumps reading your blog.
    Be safe and you have made difference in people’s lives already by just being there.
    Love You xx

  • Lissa

    Hi Rae-Anne, Love your blog – keep going with it. Just my opinion but your creative side is your wiriting skills. Don’t forget to mention me in your acknowledgments page of your first documentary / travel tips come novel: “Aussieghana Adventure”. Take care

  • Matt

    Well written Mum, you really put the reader right in it. Keep it up. Also, you should consider documenting events on film? It would make for a wild watch

  • Kerry Williams

    Loved reading about your exploits so far. Let me know when the school is ready. Keep up the communication. Cheers Kerry

Leave a Reply

